About NAAC

About NAAC

National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) was established in 1994 by University Grant Commission (UGC) with it’s headquarter in Bengaluru to address the concern on the quality and relevance of the higher education in India. NAAC is an autonomous body and it functions through its General Council (GC) and the Executive Council (EC) which comprises of educational administrators, policymakers and senior academicians from a cross-section of Indian higher education system. The Chairperson of the UGC is the President of the GC of the NAAC. The Chairperson of the EC is an eminent academicians nominated by the President of GC (NAAC). The Director is the academic and administrative head of NAAC and is the member-secretary of both the GC and the EC.

The NAAC has been set up to facilitate the volunteering institutions to assess their performance vis-a-vis set parameters through introspection and a process that provides space for participation of the institution.

Institutions are graded for each key aspect under four categories, viz. A, B, C and D, denoting

A = Very good,
B = Good,
C = Satisfactory, and
D = Unsatisfactory levels respectively.

The summated score for all the Key Aspects under a Criterion is then calculated with the appropriate weightage applied to it and the GPA is worked out for the Criterion. The Cumulative GPA (CGPA), which gives the final Assessment Outcome, is then calculated from the seven GPAs pertaining to the seven criteria, after applying the prescribed weightage to each criterion.